I recently read Rob Sheffield’s “Love Is a Mix Tape” and then did some unrelated cassette culture research. And it made me horribly nostalgic for the mix tapes I used to make in high school, when I occasionally stayed up all night for no reason. So I reconnected with the medium today, making my first mix tape since maybe my freshman or sophomore year of college. It’s a bit country/folk/singer-songwriter-flavored, and I put it together for a barbecue in Prospect Park today.

Side A:
Neko Case – Star Witness
The Helio Sequence – Shed Your Love
Laura Marling – Failure
The Go-Betweens – Summer’s Melting My Mind
Kristin Hersh – Shake
Clem Snide – Messiah Complex Blues
Adrian Orange & Her Band – Give to Love What’s Love’s

Side B
Conor Oberst – Get-Well-Cards
Animal Collective & Vashti Bunyan – Prospect Hummer
The Vaselines – Dying for It
PJ Harvey – Long Snake Moan
Bob Dylan – Queen Jane Approximately
Low – Born by the Wires

(60 minutes)

